Experienced Forensic Lawyer Scientist
Contact Our Firm Today 806.350.6785
The Science Behind Your Defense Contact Attorney Hesse Today

First Offense DWI in Texas

Consult Our Motivated and Aggressive Amarillo DWI Lawyer

They say that everything is bigger in Texas, and sometimes that is for the better, and other times for the worse. Out of all the states in the country, Texas has some of the harshest penalties in store for anyone convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI), even if it is the first offense on their driving or criminal record.

What can one person do when law enforcement officials and the criminal justice system are breathing down their neck, trying to bury them under heavy punishments? When you retain the services of Amarillo DWI Attorney D. Chris Hesse, you will receive professional and effective legal representation. We have committed 100% of our law firm to criminal defense, and we are not keen to surrendering or settling for "second best."

The people of the Texas Panhandle trust us due to our numerous accolades and achievements:

There is no time like the present to protect yourself. Call (806) 350-6785 today.

Excessive Penalties for First Time DWIs

Alcohol, car keys and handcuffs - first offense DWI in Texas

Everyone is capable of making a mistake, and who among us does not like the occasional drink with friends on a night out. If a police officer catches you behind the wheel with alcohol in your system, you can expect an arrest and harsh penalties to come your way. Believe it or not, even if your actions do not hurt anyone, the punishments you face will not lessen.

In the state of Texas, a first time DWI charge is a class B misdemeanor punishable by:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • $2,000 fine
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Mandatory DWI education course

If the driver's BAC level is above .15%, the charge will be increased to a class A misdemeanor and will be given harsher penalties.

Implied Consent in Texas

Under Texas implied consent law, all drivers have agreed to submitting to a breath or blood test when arrested for driving while intoxicated. Depending on your prior record, refusing to submit to a breathalyzer test or blood test can result in a license suspension of 180 days to two years.

How Can a DWI Charge be Reduced?

One strategy to fight your DWI charge is to get it reduced to a lesser charge. If you have been charged with DWI in Texas, it may be possible to plea bargain for a “wet reckless” charge. When a DWI charge is reduced to reckless driving it is referred to as “wet reckless.” With the help of our DWI attorney, you may be able to avoid the serious penalties of a DWI charge by plea bargaining for a wet reckless charge.

No Lookback Period in Texas

Many states will only consider a DWI conviction as “active on your record” for the extent of a lookback period of several years. In Texas, there is no lookback period. A first offense DWI in Texas will permanently be a problem for you, as it could add penalties to subsequent DWIs, even if they occur decades in the future. This is just one of the many reasons why you need to take your first time DWI offense case seriously and start thinking about how you can challenge it right away.

Our Focus is Criminal Defense, Our Objective is Your Freedom

No matter severely the charges against you may seem to be stacked in your disfavor, our DWI attorney in Amarillo will not back down. If a total dismissal of your charges is not on the table, we can push for a reduction of your charges, perhaps even letting you hold onto your driver’s license, and in turn, your livelihood.

Arrested for your first DWI offense? Contact us today to discuss your case in a free consultation!

Recent Reviews & Testimonials

  • I would recommend him to others

    “Attorney Hesse was hired and immediately started working for us. He was thorough and precise in his research. He answered all our questions and kept us informed as to next steps and the expected outcomes. It was a great relief to find someone in our area who would be a real advocate for his client. Attorney Hesse was professional and consistent throughout the entire process and we never felt like we were being pushed aside for a more lucrative client. I would recommend him to others and would hire him again should the need arise.”

    Kathy

  • “Chris represented me in a misdemeanor marijuana possession. He was able to take care of the case to my great satisfaction. He was always available and easy to contact. I recommend his services.”

    Francois

  • He handled my case with the utmost professionalism and care

    “I first called Chris because he was a veteran, which as a vet myself I wanted somebody who understood me and my situation. I hired Chris because he was exactly what I wanted, and needed in a lawyer. Chris handled my case with the utmost professionalism and care.”

    Eric

  • Chris was an absolute professional in the courtroom

    “I sat 2nd chair with Mr. Hesse on a Possession of Marijuana case in April of 2014. Chris was an absolute professional in the courtroom. He was able to narrow down on the proper issues during jury selection and succeeded with the suppression of the Marijuana in the case. Judges are reluctant to grant suppressions, but Chris was able to get it done! At that point, the government had no other option than to dismiss the case. Had it not been for Chris' ability to spot a fatal flaw in the government's case, his client may have been wrongfully convicted. I have no doubt Chris will work hard on your case to expose the government just as he did in our case.”

    Armen Merjanian

  • Absolutely a true professional!

    “We had a situation come up with my son of which we needed legal representation and Chris was all over it quick and resolved the situation within several day. Couldn't have asked for a better advocate than Chris. We would recommend him for anyone needing legal help. Absolutely a true professional!”

    Bunk Lawson